Corbin, Falko Earn All-Conference Recognition

Corbin, Falko Earn All-Conference Recognition

Sophomore guard Cornell Corbin and freshman guard Jacob Falko were recognized by the Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference for their outstanding performance this season.

Corbin was named MD JUCO Defensive Player of the Year, as well as being named to the Second Team. Corbin also earned all-conference and all-region awards during his freshman season.  Falko joins his teammate as an All-MD JUCO Second Team selection in his first year as a Seahawk.

The following is an excerpt from

The Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference (Maryland JUCO) today announced its 2018-19 All-Maryland JUCO Men's and Women's Basketball teams and other award recipients. A total of 41 student athletes and coaches representing 14 member institutions earned honors.

Men's Basketball (click here for full list of student-athletes)

Frederick Community College leads the way with four student athletes, followed by Baltimore City Community College with three. Prince George's Community College, Allegany College of Maryland, Cecil College and Montgomery College have two each. Harford Community College, Anne Arundel Community College, Garrett College, Chesapeake College and College of Southern Maryland have one apiece.

Alex Morales (Prince George's) was selected Maryland JUCO Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year after garnering the highest point total, as voted on by conference head coaches. Cornell Corbin (Cecil) was selected Maryland JUCO Conference Men's Basketball Defensive Player of the Year, an award also voted on by conference head coaches.

The Maryland JUCO Conference Men's Basketball Coach of the Year (heard coach of the conference regular season champion) and Bob Kirk Men's Basketball Coaches Association Coach of the Year is Terry Maczko of Baltimore City. Maczko led the Panthers to the Maryland Juco Men's Basketball Tournament Championship, and runner up finish in the NJCAA Region XX Division I Tournament, ending the season with a 23-8 record. The Bob Kirk award is named after the legendary basketball coach and athletic director, whom passed away on April 29, 2018. Kirk spent 40 years at Allegany (33 as head basketball coach) where he guided the Trojans to 927-158 record. He is also an NJCAA Hall of Fame member.

Women's Basketball (click here for a full list of athletes)

Harford leads with four selections, followed closely by Montgomery with three. Frederick, CCBC Catonsville, Baltimore City, and Chesapeake each have two. Allegany, Howard Community College, Anne Arundel, Southern Maryland, Hagerstown Community College and Garrett have one each.

Dahney Redd (Harford) is the Maryland JUCO Conference Women's Basketball Player of the Year. Redd averages 22.2 points per game, while averaging 31 minutes played. She has shot 56.3% from the floor, averages 14 rebounds per game and 2.6 assists per game.

The conference coach of the year goes to Mike Seney (Harford). Seney led his team through the regular season and posted a 12-0 record in conference play, going undefeated for a fourth consecutive season. With Seney at the helm, the Fighting Owls have also won five straight conference tournament championships.

The Maryland JUCO Women's Basketball Coaches Association selected Gwen Barnes (Chesapeake) as its 2018-19 coach of the year. Owens led the Skipjacks to 17-5 overall record and second place in conference during the regular season with a 10-2 record.