Six Seahawks Earn NJCAA Academic Awards

Six Seahawks Earn NJCAA Academic Awards

Six Cecil College student-athletes earned distinction on one of the three National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) All-Academic Teams for the 2017-2018 academic year, boasting at least a 3.60 grade-point average in addition to their athletic accomplishments. The NJCAA has annually recognized the academic achievements of its member institution's student-athletes since its inception in 1983.

In order to earn this honor, a student-athlete must meet the qualifications below:

  • NJCAA All-Academic First Team: 4.00 GPA
  • NJCAA All-Academic Second Team: 3.80-3.99 GPA
  • NJCAA All-Academic Third Team: 3.60-3.79

Brittany Atkins of women's volleyball earned a First Team nod for the second year in a row with a perfect 4.0 GPA in her career as a Seahawk. The women's softball program completed their year with two selections, including Sara Kauffman and freshman All-MD JUCO and All-Region first team selection Rachel Durham. Diere Hodges of men's basketball, Tiana Garvin of women's basketball, and Joseph Murray (two time-recipient) were the lone award-winners of their respective programs.

"The life of a student-athlete is one of discipline and hard work and accomplishments like this one deserve to be commended," said Assistant Director of Athletics Brooke Fisher. "The young men and women across the nation that are recognized with this honor are the perfect example of what it means to be a student-athlete and we are so proud of those who represent Cecil College."

Cecil College has collected 18 All-Academic Team members in the past two years. The 2016-2017 class of 11 Seahawks was the largest selection group in Cecil College Athletics history. To view a full listing of student-athletes from around the NJCAA that have been honored with this prestigious award, click here.

The Cecil College All-Academic Team members are listed below, alphabetically by first name:

Brittany Atkins (two-time recipient) Women's Volleyball II First Team All-Academic
Diere Hodges Men's Basketball II Third Team All-Academic
Joseph Murray (two-time recipient) Men's Baseball II Third Team All-Academic
Rachel Durham Women's Softball II Second Team All-Academic
Sara Kauffman Women's Softball II Third Team All-Academic
Tiana Garvin Women's Basketball II Second Team All-Academic